02.11.2017

TestBash Manchester 2017

It was time for the second edition of TestBash Manchester, and together with other well-known people from the testing community, our very own Vera was part of the line-up of the conference day. More than enough reason for me to make the journey to the north of England.

Within an hour of my arrival on Thursday, I found myself on the dinner table with three speakers and a workshop facilitator (left to right: Anne-Marie Charrett, Michael Bolton - not the singer - Vera and Marcel, Matthew Bretten and a happy Pappy).

On a sunny Friday morning we went along the Salford Quays to the conference venue "The Lowry", having a wonderful view of the famous soccer stadium "Old Trafford" (see picture with Vera). The many lean coffee sessions were already buzzing and we had the opportunity to meet old and new friends before the main event started at 9 o'clock.

Master of Ceremony, Leigh Rathbone, made his debut on the TestBash stage. With his highly infectious spirit, and the support of Vernon and his son (as microphone runner), he did a fantastic job. Also for the first time on stage were some others, like Gem Hill, Claire Reckless, and James Sheasby Thomas, partially speaking about very personal topics like "Impostor Syndrome" or "Anxiety Under Test". Two topics also appeared on the Open Space agenda on Saturday.

Our dear Vera took to the stage in the rather unthankful spot after lunch and gave a fabulous talk about "Meta-Cognition" and how it can help us improve our approach to testing. Vera also gave a small preview of the QualityMinds superheroes, which got marvelous feedback.
Rather than doing it myself, I'll allow one of the other speakers to sum up Vera's talk:

The breaks were a good chance to meet with other testers. A unique moment occured during one break, when the makers of five different podcasts came together and took the opportunity to create a giant podcasting session: the Super Testings Bros (Dan Barrow and James Espie, which featured our very own Ron Werner earlier this year), Let's Talk About Test (Gem Hill), Screen Testing (Neil Studd and Dan Billing), Tester Island Discs (again Neil Studd) and Testing in the Pub (Stephen Janaway and Dan Ashby, which featured Vernon in an episode last year). All five highly recommended!

Two big reasons I wanted to make the trip to Manchester were the opportunity to see Anne-Marie Charrett and Martin Hynie live on stage. Anne-Marie spoke about "Quality != Testing" and shared her understanding of quality and the importance for a team to have a common agreement on what quality means, and that it's not the job of a single person or role (the tester).

Martin Hynie (after an extended & very enthusiastic intro from Leigh - see photo) talked about his career and the central question where the profession of the tester is moving to. He didn't give an answer, as he had none, but he wanted to give some food for thought. His talk generated many deep and interesting discussions at the Open Space. Thanks Martin!

At the end of every TestBash there are the 99 second talks and in Manchester there was a long line of participants. Many used the opportunity to stand on stage and spread their message. Vernon presented a fantastic concept on how to use the SCRUM approach for meetings. I'm still wondering where he learned that!? Last but not least, Vera and Marcel took to the stage and revealed the date for TestBash Munich 2018. Save the date: September 14th 2018!​

The Open Space session on Saturday was full of fantastic topics, all of which were proposed and delivered by the participants on the day. We had many highly engaging discussions and we also several very personal topics on the agenda, that could be talked about in a safe and friendly environment.

From my point of view TestBash Manchester 2017 was a huge success and it was the first time since last year, that I could enjoy a TestBash as a "civilian". It was really worth it! I'm looking forward to the videos, once they are available on the Ministry of Testing Dojo.​

back

Comments

02.11.2017

TestBash Manchester 2017

Die zweite Ausgabe der TestBash Manchester stand auf dem Konferenz-Kalender und zusammen mit anderen bekannten Namen aus der Test-Community stand auch unsere liebe Vera in der Line-Up des Konferenztags. Grund genug für mich auch dieses Jahr wieder den Weg in Englands Norden anzutreten.

Bereits eine Stunde nach meiner Ankunft am Donnerstagabend fand ich mich beim Abendessen am Tisch mit drei Vortragenden und einem Workshop-Organisator wieder (von links nach rechts: Anne-Marie Charrett, Michael Bolton (nicht der Sänger, wobei...), Vera und Marcel, Matthew Bretten und ein überglücklicher Patrick).

Am sonnigen Freitagmorgen machten wir uns auf den Weg zum Konferenzort "The Lowry", entlang des Salford Quays mit Blick auf das Fußball-Stadion "Old Trafford" (siehe Foto mit Vera). Die Lean Coffee Sessions waren bereits im vollen Gang und es gab die Möglichkeit noch viele alte und neue Bekannte zu treffen, bevor es um 9 Uhr los ging.

Zum ersten Mal auf der Bühne einer TestBash stand der Master of Ceremonie, Leigh Rathbone, der mit seiner ansteckend überragenden Stimmung, und mit der Unterstützung von Vernon und seinem Sohn als Microphone-Runner, einen tollen Job machte. Neben Leigh standen auch noch einige andere Leute zum ersten Mal auf der Bühne, u.a. Gem Hill, Claire Reckless und James Sheasby Thomas und das mit Teils sehr persönlichen Themen wie "Impostor Syndrome" oder "Angstgefühle beim Testen". Zwei Themen die übrigens auch am Samstag beim Open Space nochmal angesprochen wurden.

Im undankbaren Spot nach der Mittagspause hat unsere liebe Vera einen hervorragenden Vortrag zum Thema "Meta-Cognition" gehalten und wie sie uns helfen kann unser Vorgehen beim Testen zu verbessern. Dabei wurde auch ein kleiner Vorgeschmack auf unsere QualityMinds-Superheroes geboten.

Die Bewertung des Talks überlasse ich lieber jemandem, der am Vormittag selbst noch auf der Bühne stand:

In den Pausen hatte man wieder viele Gelegenheiten sich mit anderen Testern auszutauschen. Eine Besonderheit war die Anwesenheit von den Machern von gleich fünf Testing Podcasts, die in einer der Pausen zu einer gemeinsamen Session zusammenkamen: die Super Testing Bros (Dan Barrow und James Espie, die auch schon unseren Ron Werner als Gast hatten), Let's Talk About Test (Gem Hill), Screen Testing (Neil Studd und Dan Billing), Tester Island Discs (nochmal Neil Studd) und Testing in the Pub (Stephen Janaway und Dan Ashby). Alle fünf übrigens sehr hörenswert.

Ein weiterer Grund für mich nach Manchester zu fliegen war die Gelegenheit Anne-Marie Charrett und Martin Hynie auf der Bühne zu sehen. Anne-Marie sprach in ihrem Vortrag "Quality != Testing" über das Verständnis von Qualität und wie wichtig es für ein Team ist ein gemeinsames Verständnis von Qualität zu haben und es nicht einem einzigen oder einer Rolle (dem Tester) zu überlassen.

Martin Hynie erzählte, nach einer vielleicht etwas zu langen Einleitung von Leigh (siehe Foto), über seine Karriere und der zentralen Frage wohin sich eigentlich der Beruf des Testers entwickelt. Eine Antwort blieb er schuldig, aber die wollte er auch nicht geben. Er wollte das Publikum anregen selbst darüber nachzudenken. Auch in den diversen Runden danach, unter anderem beim Open Space, in der darüber diskutiert wurde, kamen wir letztendlich auch zu keinem einheitlichen Schluß. Danke Martin!

Apropos Schluß, am Ende einer jeden TestBash stehen die 99 Second Talks an, und auch in Manchester war die Schlange derer lang, die die Gelegenheit nutzen wollten auch mal auf der Bühne zu stehen. Vernon hat ein tolles Konzept vorgestellt, wie man die Ansätze von SCRUM in Meetings anwenden kann. Wo er das nur her hat?! Zu guter letzt waren auch Marcel und Vera nochmal auf der Bühne und haben den Termin für die TestBash München verraten. Vermerkt schon mal den 14. September 2018 in Euren Kalendern.

Auch der Open Space am Samstag lieferte dank der hervorragenden Themen, die von den Teilnehmern vorgeschlagen wurden, wieder viele anregende Diskussionen. Auch einige sehr persönliche Themen standen auf der Agenda, die in sicherer Umgebung und freundschaftlicher Atmosphäre besprochen werden konnten.

TestBash Manchester 2017 war aus meiner Sicht ein voller Erfolg und ich habe das erste Mal seit einem Jahr wieder "nur" als Teilnehmer eine TestBash genießen können. Und es hat sich gelohnt! Ich freue mich schon auf die Videos, wenn sie im Ministry of Testing Dojo verfügbar sind.

Fotos: Patrick Prill und Vera Gehlen-Baum

back

1 Kommentar

As always, every conversation we shared was both educational and enjoyable. I look forward to our next run in :)